Eight MSU alumni earn Teacher Achievement Awards


Morehead State University is well represented on the list of recipients of the 2021 Valvoline™ Teacher Achievement Awards (TAA). The recipients were selected by the Kentucky Department of Education and Valvoline Inc. These educators now qualify to compete for the 2021 Kentucky Teacher of the Year, which will be announced in October. 

Of the list of 24 teachers, eight are graduates of MSU: 

image: Jared CriswellJared Criswell (19), Wayne County High School

Stephanie Groathouse (14), New Haven Elementary (Boone County)

Toni Mullins (13, 16), Carr Creek Elementary (Knott County)

Samuel Northern (11), Simpson Elementary (Simpson County)

Scott Osborn (99), Lawrence County High School

Steffanie Skiles (17), McKell Middle School (Greenup County)

image: Mary SloneMary Slone (94), Floyd County High School

Image: Amanda WhiteAmanda White (03, 08), Charles Straub Elementary (Mason County)

Valvoline is providing the 24 recipients with cash awards. From there, three finalists will be selected as Kentucky Teachers of the Year and will receive custom designed glassware commemorating their accomplishments.   

This year’s program set a new record with nearly 3,000 nominations and more than 200 applications submitted.   

To learn more about programs in MSU’s Ernst and Sara Lane Volgenau College of Education, call 606-783-2162 or visit www.moreheadstate.edu/education.